The number of private universities  in Ogun State has increased by one with the issuance of provisional  operation licence to Trinity University, Laloko, Village area of the state. 

The university was among the four new ones that was presented with licence  of operations at the National Universities Commission in Abuja on Tuesday.

The approval brings the number of private universities in Nigeria to 79.
Other approved universities are  Greenfield University, Kaduna State; Dominion University, Ibadan, Oyo State and Westland University, Iwo Osun State. 
The institutions will get their substantive licences after they have been adjudged as being well governed after three years of probation.

The pioneer private university in the state is Babcock University, Ilishan-Remo, owned by the Seventh Day Adventist and established in 1999 .

Covenant University, Ota, came second as it  was established in 2002. Other private universities in the state are Bells University of Technology, Ota, Crawford University, Igbesa and Crescent University, Abeokuta, all established in 2005.

Macpherson University, located at Seriki Sotayo, Ajebo and  Southwestern University, Okun Owa, were established in 2012.

Christland University, Owode, Christopher University, Mowe, Hall mark University, Ijebu-Itele, and Mountain Top University were established in 2015 among other universities.

Nigeria remains the African nation with the largest university system  with 43 federal and 48 state universities.

About Post Author