Three illustrious sons of Ogun State,  are among 22 distinguished Nigerians, who emerged winners of the 2018 The Sun Awards  announced by the Board of Editors of The Sun Publishing Limited, publishers of Daily Sun, Saturday Sun, Sunday Sun and Sporting Sun .
In a statement,  Managing Director/Editor-in-Chief, Mr. Eric Osagie, said the distinguished Nigerians, who have made outstanding contributions to the development of Nigeria were chosen for the awards, after the usual painstaking and rigorous process, propelled by truth, objectivity and patriotism
He said at a time the country has faced many challenges, “these Nigerians have held their heads above the waters and made incredible contributions.”
Leading the Ogun indigenes are the Registrar of the Joint Admission and Matriculation Board (JAMB), Prof. Ishaq Oloyede, who won the  Public Service Award
The ace reporter, newspaper technocrat and former Ogun State governor, Aremo Olusegun Osoba; won The Lifetime Achievement Award.
World Heavyweight boxing champion, Anthony Joshua, wins the Sports Personality of the Year Award
According to him, Mallam Nasir El-Rufai, Kaduna State governor, won the prestigious Man of the Year Award, while Governor Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi (Enugu) clinched Governor of the Year Award.
Bayelsa State governor, Hon. Seriake Dickson, was picked as Outstanding Politician of the Year, with Governor Kashim Shettima of Borno State emerged as winner of Courage in Leadership Award, among other winners announced.
Mr. Osagie said the awardees were chosen after critically examining the contributions of a legion of Nigerians before arriving at the Award winners.
The MD said in the various sectors the Award winners play, “they performed as champions, proving that good things can come out of the country.”
He said The Sun Awards would be formally conferred on the winners on January, 26, 2019, ahead of the general elections holding next February.

About Post Author