Ogun State Police Command has arrested nine members of a notorious land grabbing syndicate for unleashing violence on people of Agbogun Village in Ewekoro Local Government Area of the state.

The suspects, Gbenga Odeniyi, Owolabi Shobayo, Michael Ramoni, Idowu Dauda, Femi Fadahunsi, Rasmus Hammed, Ade Lukman, Yakubu Akinwande and Sikiru Balogun were arrested following a distress call received at Obada Oko Divisional headquarters. A statement from the Police Public Relations Officer, Abimbola Oyeyemi, said the Baale of the village whom he did not name made the complaints. He disclosed that the land grabbers who came from different areas of Ifo, Atan, Gasline and Sango Ota have invaded the village and were violently attacking the people, as well as extorting money from those working on their sites.
“Upon the distress call, the DPO Obada Oko Division CSP Benard Ediagbonya mobilized his patrol team to the scene where they met the suspects attacking one Mrs. Oniyide Folashade and Mrs. Agbogun who were developing their sites. “On sighting the policemen, the hoodlums took to their heels but they were chased and nine of them were apprehended”Oyeyemi said
Meanwhile, the Commissioner of Police, Edward Awolowo Ajogun has ordered a massive manhunt for the rest of the hoodlums. He also warned land grabbers to stay clear of the state, adding that the command under his watch will not tolerate any form of violence on the good people of the state from anyone or group no matter how highly placed such persons might be.

About Post Author