The race for the new Agura of Gbagura, in Abeokuta, Ogun State capital,  may have commenced with the meeting penultimate Saturday of contestants and members of  the Egiri Ruling House, who will produce the 9th Gbagura monarch.
The last Agura,  Oba Halidu Laloko, Sobekun II, joined his ancestors on Thursday July 12, 2018 after a 38-year reign at age 78.
Gbagura,  one of  the four quarters in  Abeokuta, the political quarters of Egbaland, with the Alake as the paramount ruler is the homestead of the late business mogul, Bashorun MKO Abiola,  the winner of the historic June 12 1993 Presidential Election.
His late  wife Simbiat and the first Nigerian woman to own a motor car, Madam Efunroye Tinubu among others also hailed from the area.
The meeting, which was said to have been at the instances of  Chief Sikiru Olayiwola Balogun and Justice Ademola Bakre, held  on Abiola Way area of the state capital.
During  the meeting, attended by sixty-six members of the royal house,  no fewer  than eight of the fourteen contestants were said to have attended the meeting.
They included  Mr.  Saburi Babajide,  Mr. Akeem Agbaje, and Alhaji Akinyele Sarafadeen Ogunwolu among others.
The Agura Chieftaincy Declaration of November 1958,  recognizes two ruling houses; namely Ajiboso and Egiri.
For the records, the first Agura of Gbagura-Egba was Oba  Jamolu, from the Egiri Ruling House and   was said to have been crowned in 1870 and transited in 1877.
Thereafter, seven Agura has been enthroned namely Oba Ijaade from the Egiri Ruling House, between 1879 to 1897, Oba Olubunmi; from Jiboso between 1897 to 1910. Others are Oba Abolade, Oba Adeosun I, both  from the Egiri royal house who reigned between 1910 to 1915 and 1915 to 1936 respectively.
Between 1936 and 1960, Oba Sobekun I, from the Jiboso ruling house was enthroned, while Oba Rauf Adeosun, from the Egiri was coronated in 1961 but joined his ancestors in 1978 and was succeeded by Oba Laloko, from the Jiboso, who transited recently.