Violence : Abiodun orders closure of 12 schools

In a bid to stem the rising cases of violence among secondary schools, the Ogun State government has shut down 12 public secondary schools in the state.

According to its 2021/2022 Academic Calender, the first term holiday of primary and secondary schools is slated for December 10

Recently, students of some secondary schools in the state, particularly those in Abeokuta, the state capital have constituted nuisance to the public as they engaged in cult-related activities and violence

Many teachers and security agents, including a Divisional Police Officer and teachers have been assaulted by the cult-students.

The Commissioner for Education, Prof. Abayomi Arigbabu, who disclosed this on Tuesday in Abeokuta added that students in other secondary schools would close December 10.

Arigbabu, who explained that the 12 affected schools were considered as flashpoints of reported unruly behaviour, added that the measure was one of the steps being taken by the state government to stem the ugly tide.

In a statement addressed to Zonal Education officers of the affected schools, Arigbabu said: “the underlisted hotspot schools should commence their compulsory holiday with effect from Tuesday, 30th November, 2021. Kindly ensure the compliance of this in your different zones.

“The schools are Egba High School, Abeokuta, Asero High School, Abeokita, Itori Comprehensive High Schoo, Itori, Ofada Community Comprehensive High School, Ofada, Lafenwa High School, Abeokuta.

“Others are Egba Owode Grammar School, Owode, Community Comprehensive High School, Ijoun, Unity High School, Kajola Iboro, Ado-odo Ota and Eyini Comprehensive High School, Iboro

“The rest are Government Science & Technical College, Idi-Aba, Abeokuta, Lisabi Grammar School, Idi-Aba, Abeokuta and Methodist High School, Arigbajo.”, the statement concluded.

About Post Author