Seven Ogun APM Lawmakers Defect To APC

Seven lawmakers elected under the Allied Peoples Movement (APM), during the last general election in Ogun State have defected to the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC)

The APM in the state was championed by the immediate past governor, Senator Ibikunle Amosun, who currently represents the Ogun Central Senatorial District at the National Assembly under the APC.

Amosun was believed to have sponsored the governorship election of the APM Hon. Abiodun Akinlade, who lost by about 20,000 to the incumbent governor, Prince Dapo Abiodun.

Speaker, Olakunle Oluomo, while reading their letters of defection, stated that the lawmakers in their correspondences, noted that they took the decision after due consultation with their leaders and constituents.

Oluomo, who said he was happy to note that things were getting better in the state under the Prince Dapo Abiodun-led administration, as all the seven members elected under the APM had decided to move to the mainstream.

The defected lawmakers were Modupe Mujota representing Abeokuta North State Constituency, Musefiu Lamidi from Ado-Odo/Ota II and Amosun Yusuf from Ewekoro State Constituency.

Others are Ajayi Bolanle, Ganiyu Oyedeji from Egbado South and Ifo II State Constituencies respectively.

Others were their Ipokia/Idiroko and Sagamu II counterparts, Ajibola Sikiratu and Ademola Adeniran.

With the defection, the 26-membership house now consists of 22 APC lawmakers, three African Democratic Congress (ADC) and a member from the People’s Democratic Party (PDP).

He urged other opposition members to emulate the seven newly defected APM members.

Speaking shortly after their defection, the lawmakers including Ajayi, Mujota and Oyedeji thanked their leaders and constituents for the opportunity to serve, assuring that they would continue to give quality representations for the benefits of their constituents.

They assured that in spite of being former members of the opposition party in the state, the Assembly remained united and their commitment was for the overall benefits of the people of the state.

According to them, the needs of their constituents may differ, but every need would be addressed in line with priorities and the lawmakers would continue to give the necessary support to the government for the overall development of the state.

About Post Author