The Ogun State House of Assembly has granted approval for the nomination of 19 out of the 20 chairmen and members of the transition commitees in the state.

 The approval came barely twenty-four hours after their screening in line with sections 40(1) of the State Local Government Law, 2000.  Prince Dapo Abiodun, had earlier in the week sent to the lawmakers for

ratification and approval

The Assembly’s approval was consequent upon the presentation of the report of the Committee on Selection by the Majority Leader, Yusuf Sheriff.

The leader also moved the motion for its adoption, seconded by  Akeem Balogun and supported by the Whole House through a voice vote at a plenary presided over by the Speaker, Rt. Hon Olakunle Oluomo.

Following the adoption of the report, Yusuf thereafter moved  for the confirmation of the 19 nominees, seconded by Balogun and unanimously supported by all the lawmakers through a voice vote.

The report partly reads, “members examined their curriculum vitae, credentials and interviewed them. They were all found to be eligible and suitable to assume the exalted office of the chairman, vice chairman, secretary and member of local government transition committee in their various local government areas of Ogun State.

The screening of the nominee of the governor for Chairman and members of Ipokia Local Governmnet Transition Committees was suspended till further notice in honour of the late chairman nominee, late Mr Shuaib Adeosun. 

‘The committee therefore recommend the screened nominees for confirmation as chairman, vice-chairman, secretary and members of Transition Committees in 19 Local Government Councils having found them eligible and suitable in consonance with provision of Section 40(1) of the Local Government Law of Ogun State, 2000″.he  stated.

About Post Author