As the general election gets underway, the Awori Traditional Council and
the Awori Natives Coalition, have canvassed review of electoral offences
as well as stiffer penalties for electoral offenders.
This the group said was necessary in order to send signal to those wishing
to perpetrate electoral violence during elections.
The group in a communique jointly signed by the Olota of Ota, Oba
Professor Adeyemi Obalanlege on behalf of Awori Traditional Council and the
President Awori Natives Coalition, Chief Oye Taiwo after a meeting in Ota
observed that the three years imprisonment without any option of fine as
penalty for electoral malpractices as provided in section 123, section 5 of
the electoral act 2010 as amended was not sufficient as deterrent to
electoral offender.
It observed that the tendency towards political intolerance among
politicians was anti-progress and urged politicians to eschew politics of
do-or-die while threatening to invoke the spirits of the ancestors against
anyone fomenting trouble.
The Awori groups also warned electoral officials, particularly youth
corps members to avoid falling into temptation in order not to put their
future in jeopardy.
Chief Taiwo, in the statement said: ” there is the need for traditional
rulers to prevail on political gladiators in their domain to ensure
peaceful conduct by their supporters, before, during and after the
Also, Oba Obalanlege stressed the need to ensure that electoral offenders
were brought to book in consonance with the law to stem the tide of
impunity that is so rampant across the land.
Among traditional rulers that attended the meeting aside the Olota were the
Olofin of Isheri, Oba Nurudeen Adekanmbi, the Olofin Adimula of Ado Odo
Oba Lateef Adeniran Akanni, the Onilogbo Asowo Aworiland ,Oba Dr. Samuel
Ojugbele; the Onitetikun of Owode Ota, Oba Wasiu Ogungbayi, the Onikoko of
Koko Etiye,

Aworiland, Oba Olusegun Joel Fashina .
Others were the Alagbara of Agbara, Oba Lukmon Agunbiade; the Onijoko
Ota; Oba Fatai Onijoko, the Onigun of Odan Abuja, Oba R.A.O Bamgbose,
Oniteku of Iteku, iteku Aworiland Oba Alamu Ogundimu, , the Ajana of Ijana
Aworiland, Oba Clement Olusegun Akinyemi, the Onikotun of Otun Ota, Oba
Akeem Kolawole Odunaro, ,the Akogun of Oruba Ota, Oba Wadudu Ajani Deinde
and Onigaun of Igaun Aworiland, Oba Sunmonu Seidu Akanbi , among